nisavidan

…life from my perspective

Today WAS NOT a Good Day….

Everything that COULD go wrong today, DID.   This is just a very shitty day for me and I’m irritable just because  My mood is fucked up right now AND I need a job. My biggest issue is trying to save enough guap before I leave for London because NOT going to London is NOT an option. I have SO many mini goals that I want to accomplish but I JUST don’t seem to be making any headway.

I agreed to fast today with Rose for Rev. Meeks from 6am – 6pm but I am extending my fast until tomorrow afternoon at 3pm.  I fasted last week for almost 40hrs and felt great. Before last week I hadn’t fasted in months so I’ve decided to make fasting part of my weekly routine again. 2 yrs ago I used to fast on Thursdays and Sundays and I never felt better. I know the fasting ritual is a sacred covenant between God and I and public announcements are strongly discouraged but documenting it here let’s me know the impact fasting has on my mood and mental state. I want to see how long it takes me to get back to the peace and calm I once knew. I desire to become more disciplined and grow closer to “Him” so I hope this is one way I can successfully achieve this.

Days like this further convince me that I’m unproductive as I don’t have anything tangible to reinforce that I “am progressing.” This is an on-going dilemma for me as I am not where I thought I would be at this time in my life nor can I see what my world looks like 3-5 yrs from now. All I KNOW is I’m tired of being broke and confronting minor bouts of what I believe  to be depression. Sometimes it’s hard living and I want to do more than “just get by” or “make a living.” Fuck That. Life ain’t about barely making a way or “scratching and surviving”; nor do I believe suffering is the pre-requisite for God’s blessing.  Clearly I’m emotional so this rant is warranted. Once I calm down I hope to put things into their proper perspective and move beyond where I am.

I’ve decided no Bikram, no gym and no running today. I’m going to think, read, drink tea and listen to my iPod; minimal distractions from the outside world. Hopefully this brings inner peace and a more positive outlook for me to face tomorrow.

OH – Mama hit me with the “you need to press your hair out if you want a real job” line again. I SHOLE wasn’t trying to hear THAT shit. I just said “OK Ma” and hurried up and got my ass up off the phone. TODAY was NOT the day for  THAT advice.

In a minute…..

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2010 by in Graduate School, Health and Wellness, Introspection, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , .

WHAT’S TODAY?

December 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 692 other followers

SEE ME ON IG!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

