nisavidan

…life from my perspective

9mm Glock Semi-Automatic Pistol

The NY Times reported that Arizona Democratic Congresswoman, Gabrielle Giffords was shot in the head this morning while giving a speech to constituents outside an Arizona supermarket.  A gunman opened fire and shot 18 people before leaving the scene.  The weapon reportedly used was a 9mm glock semi-automatic pistol.  I grieve for the victims of all the families and hope for a safe and speedy recovery for our congresswoman who is said to be at the University Medical Center in Tucson in critical condition.

As this story develops I am curious to learn what information the media reports on the suspect in custody and the 2nd 50-year old white suspect being sought for his involvement in this case.  More reading about this is warranted but my first mind tells me this is a politically motivated act and the young, white, impressionable 22-year old alleged trigger man, has been influenced by politicians and political pundits who spread intolerance and hate for people whose belief systems and ideologies don’t match their own.  Either this climate has always been present in American politics and I was too young, ignorant and disinterested to see it or it has been exacerbated by the election of our Black President Barack Hussein Obama.

Not to take it there because I am truly sad for the 6 victims who lost their lives and the other 12 victims that were wounded in the shooting, but I wonder if the point will be made the religious affiliation of the perpetrator and if it is in God he trusts.  I wonder if the media will make mention that this was a hate crime incited by terrorism on American soil by an American.  I wonder if Arizona’s gun laws will become more restricted as a result of this heinous crime.  I wonder if the type of weapon used in this shooting has any significance.  The reports make mention that the suspect is a veteran; I wonder what role his military service played in the commission of this crime and how it influenced him to open fire into a crowd of innocent people.  I wonder if “Americans” will see what “Americans” have become in order to preserve the “American” way of life.  I wonder if we will forget this story once the media moves on to the next hot topic and become even more de-sensitized to the senseless violence that interferes with every American’s life, liberty and pursuit of happiness.  I know one thing – these marks are out here wildin’ and nobody but God can save us from ourselves.

I won’t make this a black-white issue tonight though at the core I truly believe that that’s what it is.  Tonight I will stand beside my brethren, similarly the way we all did during the 9-11 attacks, as an American.  Though deep down inside the acts committed tonight do not make me proud of my country and I know President Obama hears me on this one.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/09/us/politics/09giffords.html

2 comments on “9mm Glock Semi-Automatic Pistol

  1. beauty schools santa rosa ca
    December 5, 2011

    My brother suggested I may like this website. He used to be entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t believe just how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

    • nisavidan
      December 5, 2011

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. Stay a while and read some more entries. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2011 by in Introspection, Politics, Popular Culture, Weapons and tagged , , , , .

WHAT’S TODAY?

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 692 other followers

SEE ME ON IG!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

