nisavidan

…life from my perspective

HOLLYWOOD WINS

“If you can’t achieve it/then why not try and weave it..” — Phife (Butter)

I hate my hair.  It’s nappy, tangled, knotted and dry.  I wish I had hair like Mi or uhm….Halle Berry.  Their hair is sooo straight, it can be wavy too, that it just frames their faces perfectly.  It lays down at the nape of their necks so smoothly, they probably don’t even know what “flyaways” are.  I vividly remember Mi being a good swimmer in high-school and if I had to guess I’d say it was because she practiced a lot since she didn’t have any “hair issues” that interfered with her pool time.  During swim class this chick wouldn’t even wear a swimming cap.  I was thinking, really Mi? You just NOT gone wear a swim cap huh? Well just piss on my head and call it rain.  It wasn’t her fault – it was the hair she was born with.  She was grateful to be blessed with what God gave her.  Crazy thing is, she wishes she had MY hair.  Go figure.  Now I’m wondering if BOTH of our wishes were granted would we end up wanting what it is we already have?

Jan 23rd is my date with weave death.  I cant take this shit no more as the winter months are just wreaking havoc on my head.  I used to sport a low-cut ceasar (see left) until I decided about a year ago that I wanted to grow it out.  I’ve seen some funky cool twist outs and double-strand twist hairstyles that I want to sport.  The thing is my hair isn’t long enough yet.  It’s in that in-between stage where it’s TOO long for some styles and not QUITE long enough for others so now I play the waiting game.  Listen – this weave shit is gonna kill me before it kills you; trust and believe.  It’s not quite a weave but a crochet. Now I REALLY won’t have no individuality.  I’ll just be walking around looking like everybody else and I DOUBLE hate that shit!!  I’m trying to focus on the fact this “recovery” style will protect my hair from the harsh elements while allowing it to grow.  I’m going to see how long I can make it, if I make it, because I still got 1.5wks left if I want fake out on the hair appointment.

I’ve actually worn a sew-in weave before (see pic below).  The shit was just extra. It was heavy, expensive and stinky.  I started wearing them when I began running in 2007. I wore it for a little over a year before I decided to do the “big chop.” I will admit, the different hair styles DO give me a different look but does the hair really MAKE the beauty or only serve to accentuate it say… like makeup? If you have a pretty face you have a pretty face.  THE HAIR can’t take away from that it can only add to it right?

Whatever I decide, be it the crochet or my natural hair, I hope to wear it with confidence.  My two latest and greatest finds will help me do just that.  This morning my mailman delivered my Oyin Handmade Burnt Sugar Pomade and Frank Juice. These both have got to be the best creations since packaged shea butter. I thought Miss Jessie’s Baby Buttercreme and Carol’s Daughter Mimosa Hair Honey were my hair staples – no suh. They have BOTH been taken down 2 notches.  The scent of the burnt sugar pomade is unlike anything I have found for my hair. It goes on smoothly and feels as if it moisturizes and seals my hair.  The Frank Juice is a de-tangling vegetable base leave-in conditioner spray that has a Frankincense and Myrrh scent.  These are the bomb.

So when you see me on the streets and I happen to be wearing a weave – don’t act funny; I’m still that revolutionary coming to spit the truth to the people. I’m just gonna whip my hair back and forth when I do it that’s all.

 

 

 

 

7 comments on “HOLLYWOOD WINS

  1. shay
    January 13, 2011

    hey cuz i luv this post biut i think u need to holla at me 4 dem twists u faked out twice

    • nisavidan
      January 13, 2011

      THANKS CUZIN’!!! I don’t think my hair is long enough for a twist out so Imma just hold tight. I’m thinking long and hard about these crochets. Think long you think wrong!

  2. Keemomma
    January 13, 2011

    I’m feeling the same way. I’m transitioning without the BC so I have some hair to play with but not much. I decided to go natural because there are so many ways you can wear your hair and my summer spent in NYC encouraged me even more. But those weaves still make the boys turn heads and they are much easier to handle vs the “nappy hair”. I’m looking to get something done in the near future that can handle water on a daily basis. My options: the inexpensive braids or the REALLY expensive weave. Reminder long hair has never been my fan!
    Thanks for your blog! I really enjoy reading Esp from someone I knw.

    • nisavidan
      January 13, 2011

      Key Momma I LOVE your hair. From the pics I’ve seen, though it’s short, it looks curly and thick; that’s the look I’m trying to achieve. I’m hoping in time that I will learn to love it and embrace it but it is a journey. The mixed feedback that I receive from people who prefer the straight hair look vs. others who are also natural and embrace their natural hair is confusing.
      I’m trying to take it one step at time with the hopes that I end up in happy place!!

      Thanks SOO MUCH for reading. Please continue to post comments and provide feedback. I’m digging this blogging shit!!

  3. Taryn Watkins
    January 13, 2011

    Beautiful hair is a struggle for us all. It has taken 30+ years for me to love my hair. Long, wavy, curly (so-called good hair) drove me insane for years. I think we all think its greener on the other side of hair kingdom. People love and want my hair and there are days I’m cursing in the mirror to myself. My arch-nemesis! I wish you the best of luck in getting to where you wanna be in terms of loving your hair. And I’m definitely going to be hunting down the products you recommended. Its long silky today, but tomorrow it will be battling me for control again.

  4. LaDarris Hunt
    January 14, 2011

    Your beautiful with or without hair boo

    • nisavidan
      January 14, 2011

      HA HA!! HUNT!!! You gone make me tell you I love you and I don’t even say that!! HA HA!! You my jigga! Thanks boo!!

Leave a Reply

WHAT’S TODAY?

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 692 other followers

SEE ME ON IG!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

