nisavidan

…life from my perspective

GOD’S SON

b43efee08ff0a45863ba1a0a0a0d034636c8d596I believe in the teachings of Jesus.  Though extensive research and studying is required, of what little I do know, I understand what he stood for, what he represents.  I worship God.  I give praises and honor to God.  I don’t believe that one needs to “go through Jesus” to establish a relationship with God.  I don’t believe that “Jesus is the way”.  And when I say “Jesus is the way” I mean the ONLY WAY by which an individual’s oneness with God can be achieved.  Just as I don’t believe one has to confess his sins to “a priest” in order to ask for God’s forgiveness.  Does this mean I’m going to “hell?” A boatload of people may argue that.  Does this mean that I diminish Jesus and his works and regard him and his teachings as less significant? I don’t think so but again others may argue otherwise.  Does this mean that I am ignorant about the stories of the bible, that I can’t quote scripture and I wrestle with where “facts” end and “my faith begins”? Absolutely.  I will tell you this: Jesus was a man.  A man who served as a representation of God on Earth to show his fellow man what they could achieve if they serviced one another and submitted their will to do God’s will.  Though I stand strong in this, more reading and studying is warranted if I want to move beyond where I am.  I DO know religion was used as a tool to control the masses – and NOT just Christianity both Islam and Judaism.  See, I think the origin of a belief system and how it evolves has a huge impact on how it’s communicated and received.  The HISTORY OF CHRISTIANITY is where I need to begin; quoting scripture and praising Jesus, FOR ME, isn’t enough.  I’m getting there and I have faith God will guide my steps.  I want to learn.  I want to grow.  Maybe I’m knee deep in the knowledge already and don’t even know it.  Maybe I’m at the beginning of this journey and my current school of thought needs to be completely reversed.  Either way, I’m open because I’m not afraid to ask questions.  Not afraid to challenge “conventional wisdom” nor will I silently feast on what is commonly being taught because it’s widely accepted.  The only way I’ll know if I’m “upright in my walk”, which is nothing more than an indication that my relationship with God has been strengthened, is by the quality of my thoughts and how I treat my fellow man. Period. And I KNOW I got a ways to go cause my fellow man sure knows how to test me huney.

My boy asked me the other day why am I such a “Godless heathen.”  Now I didn’t get upset at  the “heathen” part because I respond to that all day everyday and twice on Saturday, but the “Godless” part gave me pause.  Because I don’t see myself as “Godless” I naturally responded with “I got more God in me than most Christians you know.”  No I don’t go to church and no I don’t claim to be a self professed Christian though my desire is to do Jesus’ work.  I don’t know what thoughts led him to ask me that question or to refer to me as a “Godless heathen” but if I had to guess it’s probably BECAUSE I don’t go to church and I’m not a saved Christian.  Maybe he was just joking but there’s always some pain and truth laced with the humor; think Richard Pryor,  Paul Mooney and Dave Chapelle.  This is not an attack on Christians, Muslims, Jews or my non-denominational family as we all use The Bible and The Quran as the standard for how we live our lives; the moral code, so to speak, for how we should engage each other.  But I think you can have church anywhere, as church is fellowship, and the religious divide is TRULY what’s keeping us from doing God’s work.  As I mentioned before, the truth can’t be silenced.  God speaks through Christians, Muslims, Jews, Buddhists, Hindus and non-denominational believers all day long.  For me to admonish or dismiss the message because I’m prejudice against  the messenger is blasphemy.  For me to praise the message because I am enamored with the messenger will be my undoing.  The only way I can love you is I have to see myself in you; the God that dwells in us both.  If I don’t love what I see in me there’s no way I can celebrate the good in you.  No amount of preaching, singing or praise worship can dismiss this.  Before I leave you I will share that I don’t believe in physical resurrections from the dead nor do I think that we will live in heaven’s pearly gates once we pass on from this life.  I think the story of Jesus’ resurrection speaks more to a “spiritual” death and re-birth – like a transformation of his mind and his thinking.  I also think we should seek heaven on Earth by doing the most with our time while we’re here instead of waiting on an afterlife to bring you happiness and riches.

PS: I was just told that I shouldn’t upload this post because I’m not knowledgeable enough on the subject (Jesus) and an entry such as this will cause anger.  This IS NOT an attack on anyone, THEIR belief system or any ONE religion.  I write about LIFE FROM MY PERSPECTIVE so this is Kiwi, IN THE RAW, on 1.17.2011.  Do with it what you will. Until tomorrow youngn’s.

3 comments on “GOD’S SON

  1. Mogenius
    January 17, 2011

    We have a lot to discuss… 🙂

    I think that I’m gon’ have to walk through the ministry of Jesus with you and show you what He truly came to do…

    With that, you have to understand the nature of Jesus as well… yes, he was fully man, but he was fully God manifest in the flesh as well (John 1)…

    Since he was fully God (the flesh/man side of him endured temptation), he was able to become the sacrificial Lamb for humanity… without spot or blemish… He knew no sin…(did not commit sin)…

    2 Corinthians 5:21
    For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him.

    But I think what people tend to do is look at “the works” of Jesus… taking the “principles” of Jesus… the “teachings” of Jesus… without fully understanding the purpose of His coming in the flesh… this is what I would like to talk to you about at some point…

    Furthermore, I present this to you… IF Jesus said/says “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life… no man comes to the Father, but by me” … and YOU believe that this is not true, then either Jesus is a liar, or you have to rethink your position.

    Deuteronomy 18
    17 The LORD said to me: “What they say is good. 18 I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their fellow Israelites, and I will put my words in his mouth. He will tell them everything I command him. 19 I myself will call to account anyone who does not listen to my words that the prophet speaks in my name. 20 But a prophet who presumes to speak in my name anything I have not commanded, or a prophet who speaks in the name of other gods, is to be put to death.”

    21 You may say to yourselves, “How can we know when a message has not been spoken by the LORD?” 22 If what a prophet proclaims in the name of the LORD does not take place or come true, that is a message the LORD has not spoken. That prophet has spoken presumptuously, so do not be alarmed.

    So in essence, IF what Jesus said/says does not come to pass, then he is a false prophet and should not be listened to… it would be inconsistent to listen to “a man” that would be “double-minded/ unstable in all of his ways”, and speaking out of both sides of his mouth…

    Of course, Jesus was far from this… and I can prove not only through scripture, but also historical account why he is truly King of Kings, Lord of Lords, and Savior of the world…

  2. mellini
    January 18, 2011

    Kiwi, I loved this post. It was so honest!
    It seems to me that you are closer to Christ than many professed Christians. Understanding IS the key to make any intelligible decision.

    Who could be angry at this post? Only someone who is clinging on to their spiritual ideals from a place of uncertainty or tradition.

    You have ALL that you need in this moment for the Christ to reveal himself to you more fully!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2011 by in Introspection, Lifestyle, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , .

WHAT’S TODAY?

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 692 other followers

SEE ME ON IG!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

