nisavidan

…life from my perspective

MIND CONTROL

I’ve never underestimated the power of thought.  I’m not talking about the kind of power than can transplant us from Earth to Mars but the kind of power that affects your mood, your experiences and your overall outlook on life.  The kind of power that shapes your character and has the ability to change your circumstances and enhance your relationships.  The kind of power, that when coupled with prayer and righteous deeds, allows you to form your own happiness and define your destiny.  THAT’s that power that I speak of. THAT’s that power that I want. THAT’s that power that is within us all.  I speak from a woman’s perspective because I am a woman and what I will share today are excerpts from the book As a Woman Thinketh by Dorothy Hulst. This book is an adaptation of James Allen’s essay As a Man Thinketh but written by a woman for women so we could identify directly and personally with Allen’s concepts.

Many of us feel sadness, hate, fear, pain, anger, loneliness and despair.  I too struggle with some of these very same emotions on any given day but I don’t want them to overpower me.  I don’t want them to adversely affect my interaction with others or hinder any progress I make toward becoming the best me I can be.  It is also not lost on me that I have to surround myself with positive, like-minded people who can assist me in this effort otherwise my going forward WILL BE retreat.  I have a photocopy of Hurst’s As a Woman Thinketh that I read 2yrs ago and I decided to pull it out again last night for positive reinforcement.  I’m almost done as the book is only 70-pages but I felt compelled to share with you some of the most poignant passages as this information is TOO GOOD to hold to my chest.  If you are interested in receiving a copy drop me a line at kid.charlemagne99@yahoo.com and put MIND CONTROL in the subject header.  I will email you a pdf of the essay.  You will worship me after you’ve read it.

I have a list of books that I need to clear off my desk in the next month or so as I try to stay committed to my fake New Year’s Resolution of one book a week.  What books are you reading?

“A woman is literally what she thinks, her character being the complete sum of all her thoughts.”

“A noble and God-like character is not a thing of favor or chance, but is the natural result of continued effort in right- thinking.”

“By the right choice and true application of thought, a woman ascends to the Divine Perfection; by the abuse and wrong application of thought, she descends below the level of the beast.”

“Every woman is where she is by the law of her being.  The thoughts which she has built into her character have brought her there.”

“Circumstance DOES NOT make the woman; IT REVEALS HER to herself.”

“Women do not attract that which THEY WANT, but that which THEY ARE.”

“Not what she wishes or prays for does a woman get but what she justly earns.  Her wishes and prayers are only gratified and answered when they harmonize with her thoughts and actions.”

“Woman are anxious to improve their circumstances but are unwilling to improve themselves; therefore they remain bound.”

“Suffering is ALWAYS the effect of wrong thought in some direction.  It is an indication that the individual is out of harmony with herself, with the Law of her being.  The sole and supreme use of suffering is to purify, to burn out all that is useless and impure.””

“A woman cannot directly choose her circumstances but she can choose her thoughts, and so indirectly, yet surely, shape her circumstances.”

If your appetite is whet then I have done my job.  Until tomorrow youngn’s.

 


 

4 comments on “MIND CONTROL

  1. mellini
    February 1, 2011

    Love the post! Such biblical concepts.
    I have lived most of my life this way and there is an absolute power in it.
    Me–Never a victim–always being refined!

    • nisavidan
      February 11, 2011

      Thanks Melle Mel!! I TRULY believe everything I read in that “As A Woman Thinketh” book and I was dying to share. The thoughts were just rushing out of me. I definitely see YOU in this post. 110%. Smooches!!

  2. psudonym4anonimity
    February 11, 2011

    Have you ever questioned why we as people of color spend so much time reading books and exploring other media that define our experience?

    • nisavidan
      February 11, 2011

      When you ask the question “reading books and exploring other media that define our experience” are you asking why people of color refer to media sources that ARE NOT credible? Are you considering the “other media” sources to not be credible because their reporters/authors don’t share our experience? I just want to make sure I clearly understand your question before I address it. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

WHAT’S TODAY?

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 692 other followers

SEE ME ON IG!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

