nisavidan

…life from my perspective

YOU’RE A SAVAGE!

Music soothes the savage beast.  No matter what mood I’m in there is a song that can describe it, intensify it or change it.  I like that the language of music is universal in that it doesn’t pledge allegiance to race, culture, socieo-economic status, geographic region or gender (most times).  It communicates stories of life, love, loss, longing and lust.  If it happens in life chances are you’re gonna hear about it in a song.  And while my favorite music is rap, I realize I must listen to other genres or risk becoming dumb.  I was chopping it up with Melle Mel and The Furious Five not too long ago and she explained to me music’s effect on our brain.  In a nutshell, she told me if I didn’t stop listening to so much rap music I was gonna be dumber than a doorknob when it was all said and done.  She recommended classical music as it was some of the best music for brain development that I could listen to and I told her baby steps.  And because what she shares with me never falls on death ears, I’ve since  added a few jazz tracks to my iPod playlist so now they get shuffled around with the egotistical, misogynistic, secular music that I listen to on a regular.  I did this because I don’t ever wanna be dumb.  Listed below are a few songs that no matter when or where they’re played can and oftentimes do put me in a certain mood.  I’ll tell you mine if you tell me yours……

SONGS THAT MAKE ME WANNA BREAK OUT IN DANCE:
Like A Pimp – David Banner
Rock With You – Michael Jackson
I Wanna Rock – Uncle Luke
The Pleasure Principle – Janet Jackson
Is That Yo Chick – Jigga, Twista and Missy
Gucci Bandana – Gucci

SONGS THAT MAKE ME FEEL SEXY:
Maybe – Toni Braxton
Break You Off – The Roots
My Body – LSG
There You Go – Johnny Gill
Can’t Get Enough – Tamia
Don’t Go – En Vogue

SONGS THAT MAKE ME FEEL SAD:
Love Ridden – Fiona Apple
If You Don’t Wanna Love Me – James Morrison
A Song For You – Donnie Hathaway
Til It Happens to You – Corrine Bailey Rae
The Heart of the Matter – India Arie
So Not Over You – Simply Red

SONGS THAT MAKE ME BREAK OUT IN RAP:
Notorious Thugs – B.I.G. and Bone
The Ghost of Christopher Wallace – Jay Electronica
Bring You Down – Jadakiss
Friend or Foe – HOV
Hungry – Common
Intl Players Anthem – UGK

SONGS THAT MAKE ME FEEL MELLOW:
Naima – John Coltrane
Feels So Good – Gabriela Anders
Assassin – John Mayer
It Could Be Sweet – Portishead
U.N.I. – Ed Sheeran
Closer – Kings of Leon

SONGS THAT MAKE ME WANNA LOVE:
Diary – Alicia Keys
Your Love Is King – Sade
The Scientist – Coldplay
For Real – Amel Larrieux
Tell Me – Groove Theory
Stay With Me – DeBarge

SONGS THAT MAKE ME FEEL HIP–HOP ISH:
Top Billin’ – Audio Two
The Bridge – MC Shan
NY State of Mind – the Husband
I Ain’t No Joke – Eric B.& Rakim
Dwyck – Gangstarr
Nutmeg – Ghostface

SONS THAT MAKE ME FEEL PRETTY:
Pretty Young Thing – Michael Jackson
A Rose is Still a Rose – Aretha Franklin
Sunday Morning – Maroon 5
Superwoman – Karyn White
That Girl – Stevie Wonder
You Give Good Love – Whitney Houston

SONGS THAT MAKE ME FEEL INVINCIBLE:
Give It To Me – Madonna
Champion – Kanye West
We Are The Champions – Queen
Never – Scarface
Amazing – Kanye West
The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill – Lauryn Hill

Leave a Reply

WHAT’S TODAY?

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 692 other followers

SEE ME ON IG!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

